Fair Housing Act

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination for housing.  No one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing.
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing.
  • Make housing unavailable.
  • Deny a dwelling.
  • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling.
  • Provide different housing services or facilities.
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental.
  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent.
  • Deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing.
  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan.
  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans.
  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees.
  • Discriminate in appraising property.
  • Refuse to purchase a loan.
  • Set different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan.

In addition, it is illegal for anyone to threaten, coerce, intimidate or interfere with anyone exercising a fair housing right or assisting others who exercise that right.